嵌入式操作系统加固 - 保护嵌入式 Linux 和 Android 系统

操作系统加固 L4B

安卓系统是基于 Linux 内核开发的,但它离原始操作系统的核心越远,谷歌维护其代码库和保护设备免受威胁的开销就越大。Linux 内核本身具有多项安全功能,但由于它是开源的,因此可以对其进行修改,以创建其他发行版。任何提供基于 Android 或核心 Linux 内核的嵌入式系统的嵌入式 Linux 或Android 设备制造商(OEM) 都必须加固其系统,以保护移动设备和物联网设备的安全。

嵌入式 Linux 的安全风险

用户安全面临的最大风险是漏洞公开后内核未打补丁。最困难的是,并不是每个 Linux 安全补丁都能获得 CVE,因此管理员和开发人员必须知道何时有新补丁可用。第三方补丁管理系统会扫描系统漏洞并自动安装安全补丁,但嵌入式 Linux 和 Android 系统运行的移动设备和物联网并不对漏洞扫描仪公开。这意味着嵌入式 Linux 系统是攻击者的主要目标。

CVE-2019-17666 就是一个说明嵌入式系统漏洞严重性的例子。该漏洞影响任何使用瑞昱 Wi-Fi 芯片和设备驱动程序的系统。虽然已经发布了补丁,但估计仍有大量智能电视、门锁和数千个个人 Wi-Fi 接入点未打补丁,容易出现缓冲区溢出,导致拒绝服务或可能的 shell 访问。通过 shell 访问,攻击者可以安装自己的恶意软件(如僵尸网络代码)、更改设置并可能窃听用户数据,从而导致严重的数据泄露。

确保安卓和其他嵌入式 Linux 设备的安全

修改 Linux 以适应第三方供应商的发行版,不仅需要合适的开发人员,还需要合适的安全专家,因为他们了解一旦对操作系统做出错误的修改,就有可能出现漏洞。谷歌宣布,它将把安卓系统转移到更接近原始 Linux 内核的版本,以减少开发人员的开销,并限制第三方设备开发人员定制设备驱动程序对内核的直接访问。

为了更好地确保嵌入式 Linux 的安全,制造商必须使用了解如何提供支持定制电路板和专有硬件的优化 Linux 操作系统的供应商。在L4B Software,我们自 2004 年起就开始为移动设备和物联网开发安全可靠的嵌入式 Linux 解决方案,积累了丰富的经验。我们将嵌入式 Linux 安全性视为开发生命周期中的优先事项,以确保客户的系统不仅能优化性能,还能保持安全。我们通过以下几种方式做到这一点:

  • 自定义 API:我们提供 API 接口,客户可以运行预定义的命令集。
  • 硬件抽象层(HAL):与 Android 处理设备与内核接口的方式类似,我们的 HAL 可让驱动程序与 Linux 上层接口,而无需直接与内核交互。
  • SDK 和封装程序:文档和封装器为开发人员提供了安全、简便的系统使用方法。

新的行动呼吁

Embedded OS Hardening -Safeguard Embedded Linux and Android Systems

Android is built on the Linux kernel, but the farther away it gets from the core of the original operating system, the more overhead it takes for Google to maintain its codebase and protect devices from threats. The Linux kernel itself has several security features, but since it’s open-source, it can be altered to create an alternative distribution. Any embedded Linux or Android device manufacturer (OEM) that offers embedded systems based on Android or the core Linux kernel must harden their system to safeguard mobile and IoT devices.

Security Risks with Embedded Linux

The biggest risk to user security is an unpatched kernel after a vulnerability is made public. The most difficult part is that not every Linux security patch gets a CVE, so it’s up to administrators and developers to know when a new patch is available. Third-party patch management systems will scan systems for vulnerabilities and install security patches automatically, but embedded Linux and Android systems run mobile devices and IoT that aren’t openly available to vulnerability scanners. This means that embedded Linux systems are a major target for attackers.

An example of the severity of vulnerable embedded systems is CVE-2019-17666. The vulnerability affects any system that uses the Realtek Wi-Fi chip and device driver. Although a patch was released, it’s estimated that numerous Smart TVs, door locks, and thousands of personal Wi-Fi access points are left unpatched and vulnerable to a buffer overflow that could lead to denial-of-service or possible shell access. With shell access, an attacker could install their own malware (e.g. botnet code), change settings, and potentially eavesdrop on user data leading to a severe data breach.

Securing Android and Other Embedded Linux Devices

Modifying Linux to fit a third-party vendor distribution takes not only the right developers but the right security experts who understand the potential for vulnerabilities should the wrong change be made to the operating system. Google announced that it will move Android to a closer version of the original Linux kernel to reduce developer overhead and limit direct kernel access by custom device drivers made by third-party device developers.

To better secure embedded Linux, it’s essential that manufacturers use vendors that understand how to deliver optimized Linux operating systems that support custom boards and proprietary hardware. At L4B Software, we have experience since 2004 developing safe and secure embedded Linux solutions for mobile devices and IoT. We consider embedded Linux security a priority in our development lifecycle to ensure that our customers have a system that not only optimizes for performance but also stays secure. We do this in a few ways:

  • Custom APIs: We provide an interface with APIs so that customers can run a predefined set of commands.
  • Hardware Abstraction Layer (HAL): Similar to the way Android handles device interface with the kernel, our HAL lets drivers interface with the upper-layer of Linux without directly interacting with the kernel.
  • SDKs and wrappers: Documentation and wrappers give your developers a secure and easy way to work with the system.

New call-to-action